Pen/Hemingway Nomination, Rae Bryant’s The Indefinite State of Imaginary Morals

Thank you to Patasola Press and Editor in Chief, Lisa Marie Basile, for nominating The Indefinite State of Imaginary Morals for the 2012 Pen Hemingway. An honor that Patasola thinks so highly of this little collection and to see it share desk space with the brilliant debut works out and about this year.

From the PEN/Hemingway Award site…

The PEN/Hemingway Foundation Award is given for a novel or book of short stories by an American author who has not previously published a book of fiction.  The late Mary Hemingway, a member of PEN, founded the award in 1976 both to honor the memory of her husband, Ernest Hemingway, and to recognize distinguished first books of fiction.  The award is funded by the Ernest Hemingway Foundation, which has been administered by the Hemingway Society since 1987, and PEN New England. In addition to $8000, the winner also receives a one-week residency in  The Distinguished Visiting Writers Series at the University of Idaho’s  MFA Program in Creative Writing. In addition, the winner and competition  finalists and honorable mentions receive Ucross Residency Fellowships  at the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming, a retreat for artists and writers.  A panel of three distinguished fiction writers selects the winner.

The 2011 Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award winner was Brando Skyhorse for his novel The Madonnas of Echo Park.  There were two finalists: Patricia Engel for Vida and Suzanne Rivecca for Death Is Not An Option; and two honorable mentions: Danielle Evans for Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self and Helen Simonson for Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand.  The 2011 judges were Allegra Goodman, Edward P. Jones, and Jayne Anne Phillips. Marilynne Robinson was the keynote speaker.

To see the 2011 award winners and ceremony click here.